Monday, June 12, 2017

Special City Council Meeting

City of Russell
Special Council Meeting
May 10, 2017, at 6 p.m.

Duane called the meeting to order at 6:07 p.m.  Chris Feehan, Terry Newcomb, and Casey DeHoedt were in attendance.  Corey Paige and Jay Pierschbacher were not present.  Jim Larrington was present at the meeting.
Duane stated that he was to get paperwork to Ellen Walker at USDA regarding the sewer and state revolving funds to assist in our sewer project.
In regards to water meter project funding, the Council discussed using local option sales tax funds and using funds from the garbage fund.  The Council also looked at funds that could be left in the water fund at the end of this fiscal year.
Chris Feehan made a motion to use funds from the garbage account to buy water meters  and Terry seconded it.   The Council was informed by the state auditor that a resolution must be passed to declare a surplus in garbage and put in the resolution how the surplus figure was determined and whether or not the money will be paid back to the garbage fund.
The Council decided to buy all new water meters contingent on finding out when we can amend the next years FY17-18 budget and when funds can be transferred for the project.
Streets-L.L. Pelling can start the end of June resurfacing our streets and the city will pay them next fiscal year.
Jim got bids for work to be done on a sink hole at Smith Street.  The Council decided to let the bid to Kent Loynachan.  Casey made a motion to repair two sink holes-Smith Street and West Street and Terry seconded the motion.  The motion carried unanimously
Council discussed giving Shawn Davison a deadline of June 30 for the tree removal project.  Chris made a motion to inform Shawn of this deadline and Casey seconded it.  The motion carried unanimously.
Casey made a motion to adjourn the meeting at 7:07 p.m. and Terry seconded it.  Motion passed unanimously 3-0. The next regular council meeting will be on June 5th at 7 p.m.

____________________________                                                            _______________________
Mayor, Duane Bedford                                                                                City Clerk, Kris Wilkins

No comments: