Thursday, September 15, 2011

Chariton School Board Election

195 people out of 5,545 registered voters voted in the Chariton School Board election on September 13.  Russell's own Kellie Gookin ran (and won) for a position on the Board.  The polls were open in Russell from noon - 8pm at the Russell Community Center.
Voter turnout was low as only 3.5 percent of registered or possible voters in the county voted.  Even though turnout was low, it was still a lot higher than last year with 66 more people voting.  All three candidates who ran for the School Board in Lucas County ran unopposed.  Of the three candidates, two are current board members, Dr. Craig Scott, and Brian M. Davis.  The third candidate running was Kellie Gookin of Russell, who ran (and won) for the seat held by Duane Steenhoek, who decided not to seek re-election.  Dr. Scott won the District 2 seat, Gookin won the Director District 3 seat, and Davis won the At Large District 4 seat.  Sharon Kline won the Indian Hills Community College Director District 7 seat.

No comments: